CMS awards $4B deal to streamline system development

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services awarded its $4 billion Enterprise System Development (ESD) contract to a set of 16 contractors.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services will use the contract to procure and purchase IT over the next 10 years as the agency updates and brings to speed Medicare & Medicaid services & attempts to upgrade health care quality & reduce costs.

ESD is Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ new approach for acquiring, delivering & managing Information Technology. Services provided under the contract will include planning, business requirements, design, development, testing & maintenance.

Indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity contracts were awarded to 16 firms, with a minimum value of $1,000 in orders per contractor & a maximum of $4 billion in total. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services announced the multiple awards on Federal Business Opportunities Monday.

The ESD Service Model includes systems development & integration, system & application engineering & technical support to upgrade the automated systems & agency wide applications of the Health & Human Services Department.

With the development of its Enterprise Data Centers & a Common Enterprise Infrastructure, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services wants a common approach to system & software development & a contracting vehicle that provides for these services, the agency said in solicitation documents previously posted on FedBizOpps.

The contract supports Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ Integrated Information Technology Investment & System Life Cycle Framework, a uniform approach for Information Technology systems development & the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Information Technology Modernization Program & initiatives. Task orders will cover life cycle services within a system or application development program, relate with other task orders under the same program & have defined exit criteria for successful completion.

Compliance with the life cycle framework will ensure that current & future application development will meet enterprise architectures & support Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ investment management process.

The 16 awardees are:

  1. Northrop Grumman
  2. CGI Federal
  3. EDS
  4. Computer Science Corp.
  5. IBM
  6. Lockheed Martin
  7. Science Applications International Corp.
  8. ViPS of Baltimore, Md.
  9. Buccaneer Computer Systems of Baltimore, Md.
  10. IDL Solutions of Vienna, Va.
  11. Quality Software Services of Gaithersburg, Md.
  12. Maricom Systems of Baltimore
  13. 2020 LLC of Falls Church, Va.
  14. iFed LLC
  15. Alta Systems Inc. of Fairfax, Va.
  16. Data Computer Corp. of America (DCCA) of Ellicott City, Md.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter